Creative Craft Classes – 12th March 2015

Today we’re welcoming Chloe and Lucy, two of our resident makers, to the blog to get to know a little bit more about them and find out what fun happenings will be part of their workshops at our brand new Creative Craft Classes starting this month.

Chloe from Life’s Big Canvas – Origami For Card Making | 12th March – Book here!

Life's Big Canvas Workshop Leeds

My mission is to make the whole world a playful place, and to encourage creativity, even in the most mundane places and stubborn people. I started by painting animals, but now I mainly fold paper.

I create whimsical items for the child within – whether it’s a simple badge, a notebook made with a book cover you remember as a child, or something you can’t believe was ever once a piece of paper – I am fascinated by how something flat like paper can become three dimensional with a few folds.

Life’s Big Canvas has been a part of the independent retail scene in Leeds for the last three years, being involved in shops, fairs, workshops and galleries. I will always continues to experiment and play daily, wherever I am.

How To Fold Paper

How did you first get involved in making your craft?

I started making stuff five years ago, and it was mainly jewellery, but then one january I started making origami boxes for putting the jewellery into, and just got obsessed with paper. I still do other stuff, but it’s the paper that always stays around.

What made you decide to take the leap to start selling your work?

I had no other choice, unfortunately. I was signed off work with sickness, and my sick pay ran out – the doctor said I wasn’t well enough to work, but the DWP said I was, so the Job Centre suggested I take self-employment credit (a scheme that I’m not sure if it still runs or not) and that got things moving. That makes it sound like it’s not a dream or a love, but I think I would have got to this point eventually, I was just pushed a bit sooner.

Origami Workshop, Leeds

What’s your favourite thing about running a workshop or class?

I used to run the Paper Folding Workshop at Inkwell in Chapel Allerton every month. I really enjoy sharing my knowledge and seeing people see forms come out of their flat paper. The realisation in people’s faces when you get the that point where suddenly you can see what it’s meant to be is priceless!

Lucy from George & Lilly – Make A Felted Picture | 12th March – Book Here!

Felted Picture Workshop

I work from a small studio in my house, I’m a trained graphic designer but currently work at a printers part time. Im originally from Wiltshire but have been living in Leeds for 6 years with my husband and 3 cats. I enjoy anything creative although my passion is obviously feltmaking, DIY and gardening.

How did you first get involved in making your craft?

Though a trained graphic designer I’ve always been interested in textiles, arts and crafts. While at university I lived with a lot of design & crafts students and was very jealous of everything they were creating in their lessons.  I started using craft felt but found it very thin, I found out I could make thicker felt from wool so after going to a couple of evening classes I started making my own and things have evolved from there.

George&Lilly Workshop, Leeds

What made you decide to take the leap to start selling your work?

After selling a few things to friend and family I decided to start doing craft fairs to see if my products would sell well with the public.  I enjoy selling my items to the public as it’s nice to hear first hand feedback and see people enjoy what I have made.

What’s your favourite thing about running a workshop or class?

Ive run many workshops before; I love seeing what designs people come up with. Even the most uncreative person can come up with  fantastic piece of felt art!!

To book onto Make A Felted Picture, Origami For Card Making or to view our other Creative Craft Classes, pop along to this link or call 0113 2443454

See you there x

Leave a comment