Creative Craft Classes – 26th March

Today we’re welcoming Claire, co-owner of Our Handmade Collective and one of our resident makers, to the blog to get to know a little bit more about her and find out what fun stuff will be part of her workshop at our brand new Creative Craft Classes next week.

Little Shop Of Lathers – Making Bath Bombs | 26th March – Book here!

Making Bath Bombs Class, Leeds

I live in Leeds with my husband Mark, and three very demanding pussy cats, who entertain us on a daily basis; our household has lots of laughter! Making bath and body products at home means we always have lots of lovely natural products to use on ourselves and there is always a lovely fragrance in the house – albeit there is often a fine covering of white powder everywhere (which does make it sound a little bit strange – but perfectly legal we assure you!).

How did you first get involved in making your craft?

I first got involved in making my craft back in 2010 when we were planning our wedding, and I was exploring different options for our wedding favours.  I had previously trained as an Aromatherapist and loved working with Essential oils so decided to try my hand at making bath bombs to see what I could create.  I actually ended up making something different for our wedding favours as I didn’t have the confidence at the time but the seed was planted in my mind!

Creative Craft Class Leeds

What made you decide to take the leap to start selling your work?

Back in January 2012 I became quite ill and had to make the tough decision to leave my employment. I began working with my husband on ideas for my own business which I could do from home without any pressure. At first it was more a case of something to keep myself occupied while I was at home. I wanted to combine my love of holistic treatments and previous studies as an holistic therapist with something which I would enjoy doing on a daily basis but that could be done as and when it suited me and my illness. At the time we weren’t sure what road the business would take and how it would evolve, but that’s what I love about a creative business! I tested a lot of recipes and built up some stock and it took off from there, with me venturing out to a few craft fairs.  I then started to supply some shops and ventured into bespoke product ranges for specific customers. Little Shop of Lathers grew as I learned to manage my illness, with new product ranges being introduced and new ideas constantly flowing. I decided that the time was right to go a big step further – and in June 2013 Our Handmade Collective came to fruition! OHC is a fabulous handmade gift shop which I adore and am extremely proud of every single day – and it’s the only place where the full range of Little Shop of Lathers goodies are available!

What’s your favourite thing about running a workshop or class?

I run bath bomb making workshops regularly, and also children’s birthday parties and pampering parties, which are all great fun! I love to see people making their own creations with the information and advice I have given – it’s very rewarding and gives lots of warm fuzzy feelings! Helping people to release some creativity and learn a new skill is extremely fulfilling – it helped me a lot when I first became ill and it’s lovely to be able to do that for others.

Here are a few snaps of our first Creative Craft Class – Make A Felted Picture last night which was a huge success! Don’t worry if you missed out, we’re running it again in April!

Creative Workshop in Leeds

Making A Felt Picture
Craft Classes in Leeds

To book onto Making Bath Bombs or to view our other Creative Craft Classes, pop along to this link or call 0113 2443454

See you there x

One response to “Creative Craft Classes – 26th March

  1. Pingback: Creative Craft Classes – 29th March | Our Handmade Collective

Leave a Reply

